Origin Energy strikes again

We interrupt our normal programming to bring you an update.

There are problems with the privatised utilities system in Australia. You may have noticed.

I’ve been having trouble with mine forever. I thought that keeping my head down and paying the bills on time would resolve most of it. It may have made things worse.

I left Origin Energy a couple of years ago because being a customer of theirs is like dealing with an angry pimp. When I told them I was leaving, I had a consultant on the phone with me fighting about it. Seriously. Now I discover that they have fabricated a claim with my new provider that I wanted to move back.

I’ll give you a moment for that to sink in.

They made that shit up.

I had weeks of robo-dialled calls and requests to give my name, address and dob to people on the other side of the planet. The info is an issue because with someone’s name, address and dob you can get access to all their banking, centrelink, medical and tax information.

The lead up to the silly season is bad enough when you’re living with permanent disability. When you have utilities companies harrassing you on top of that, it’s pretty bloody awful. The internet was cut off at the time, which is my usual method of trying to resolve things like this. Telstra have no qualms about cutting off disabled pensioners at christmastime.

Which suggests all sorts of things about their pricing policies. Companies dealing in the free market are supposed to set their prices at what the market can handle. If everyone’s ducking reminder calls and paying their bills late, or not paying, there are issues with the pricing. Might have something to do with having to pay share holders. Hmm.

Anyways, here’s the email from the Ombudsman. You’ll notice lots of references to the phone thing. I’m guessing a lot of other people will identify with this. From both sides. More and more people leave their mobiles turned off for extended periods as a stress reduction management.

I’ll write more on this when I’ve calmed down. This is just outrageous. I’m going to be spending the Australia Day long weekend campaigning for citizens owned distributed power networks now. The kind that are becoming popular in Britain and Germany. That you don’t hear about in the evening news! It’s part of the Transition Towns system. And yes, I am plugging them a lot lately. Well, have you seen the history and ideas they have available?

Copy begins:

>> I have attempted to contact you regarding your complaint; however, I was
>> unable to reach you by phone.
>>
>> I am writing in reference to the Ombudsman complaint LUMO Energy has
>> received in your name regarding the electricity account transferred out to
>> another retailer without your consent.
>>
>> Upon receiving your concern, I have reviewed the account and I confirm that
>> LUMO Energy received the transfer request from ORIGIN Energy on 27 November
>> 2014.
>>
>> I confirm that LUMO Energy attempted to contact you to retain the account
>> via phone on 1 December 2014, 2 December 2014 and 3 December 2014; and a
>> letter was sent on 28 November 2014 regarding the same.
>> On all the occasions, the privacy was declined and therefore there was no
>> further discussion happened regarding the transferring out of the account.
>>
>> LUMO Energy does not object the transfer out of the account, as there was no
>> request from customer to decline the transfer.
>>
>> I have organised LUMO Energy to contact ORIGIN Energy and request to
>> transfer the account back to us. However, LUMO Energy is unable to promise
>> whether ORIGIN Energy will accept our request or not.
>>
>> Once LUMO Energy receives a communication from ORIGIN Energy whether LUMO
>> Energy’s request is accepted or declined, I will provide you an update
>> accordingly.

I’ve replied letting them know that it’s waiting on the counsellor to take up the case. Also asking if the last time this happened was it a result of Origin’s bullying tactics. Yes, this is the second time this has happened.

I think I need a bex and a good lie down. This is just bullshit. Thank you so much Jeff Kennett. Gee, I might even need to ring Beyond Blue now and take advantage of some of their services. Ahem.

About Syburi

Witch, bitch, creatrix; hippie, dreamer, gardener. Lover of books, music, rescue animals, piss and vinegar.
This entry was posted in Australia, social justice, sustainable community, the bad joke, what's wrong with these people? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.